My Apparent Lack of Social Skills

Today, I’ve been challenged to personalize the daily prompt:

Ring of Fire: Do you love hot and spicy foods or do you avoid them for fear of what tomorrow might bring?

For reasons that I cannot totally explain, my mind went straight to my snarky attitude and my recent lack of control over my mouth.

You see, I teach social skills five days a week. I’ve taught about using filters, considering others’ perspectives, and avoiding mean words. Recently, I’ve thrown all of those best practices out the window and have rather impolitely told all who have pissed me off to fuck themselves.

It could be that my “unspecified cognitive disorder” is flaring and I feel really, really shitty. It could be that the stress of my job has just finally pushed me over the edge. It could be that I’m exhausted for trying to fit 26 hours worth of responsibilities into a 24 hour day. Whatever it is, I just don’t care anymore.

As liberated as I feel when telling people that they suck when they’re being assholes, I do worry about the proverbial fiery shits they next day. I mean, how much more will people take before I start being written up at work or someone punches me in the face? I should make an office pool or something…

15 thoughts on “My Apparent Lack of Social Skills

  1. I admire your brutal honesty. There’s a lot of people that I would love to tell to f*** off. Oh, yeah, I did tell my downstairs neighbor to “fuck you.” Maybe, that’s a little extreme. She kind of pissed me off. That’s the only time I really curse. And it takes a long while to get me to that point.

    • Me says:

      Thank you. I equally admire your patience. Brutal honesty easily turns into brutal embarrassment more times than not. Swearing, on the other hand, is my forte. I have a mouth that would make a sailor blush, but some of my favorite adjectives also happen to expletives.

  2. “It could be that I’m exhausted for trying to fit 26 hours worth of responsibilities into a 24 hour day.”
    Sigh, I totally relate to this. If they were to add more hours to the day, I’d just end up working them away!

    • Me says:

      Right?!? One thing I’ve learned (although haven’t been practicing lately) is that cranky and tired get me nowhere. A lot of days I feel like I’m leaving my full-time job to go home and start my other full-time job. I’ve found little indulgences (afternoon coffees and chocolate-covered toffee) can boost my mood and help me get through the night.

  3. I found the link to your blog on TheWitch’s page. The minute I arrived at your page the words “go fuck themselves” floated off the page with a golden halo and angels sang “aaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh”. I found a place I like!
    “Go fuck yourself” is my go-to conversation stopper.
    I also love the name and tagline of your blog – our blogs could be cousins.

  4. Haha, I WISH my internal filter would sometimes slip so I could do the same. I wonder how many of us are wandering the streets all boiling and bubbly, ready to explode messily onto the nearest bystander. Great take on the Daily Prompt btw!

    • Me says:

      Thanks for the compliment. Being liberal with my feelings is a for sure a double-edged sword. What if we all did it though? What if we gave up on keeping up appearances and being prim and proper? Sure there’d be an adjustment period, when everyone had to swallow the hard things they were hearing, but then, perhaps it could be inspirational. “Gee, I really hate when she calls me a dipshit, maybe I should take her advice and pull my head out of my ass!” World peace delivered!

      • You’re quite right, and it would save a lot of time so I’m sure everyone would be happier in the long run, and we’d not be questioning ourselves so much wondering if people were being honest. Less game playing too!

Leave a Reply

